Graduate 2020-2021

School of Special Education

Director: Robin Brewer, Ed.D.

Location: McKee 29

Telephone: 970.351.1661


Faculty: Rashida Banerjee, Ph.D.; Sandra K. Bowen, Ph.D.; Robin D. Brewer, Ed.D.; Paula W. Conroy, Ed.D.; Silvia Correa-Torres, Ed.D.; Jackie Davis, Ph.D.;  Amy Graefe, Ph.D.; Lewis B. Jackson, Ed.D.; Jennifer Lieber, Ed.D.; John L. Luckner, Ed.D.; Kristine Melloy, Ph.D.; Tracy Mueller, Ph.D.; Francie R. Murry, Ph.D.;  Lori Peterson, Ph.D.; Jennifer Ritchotte, Ph.D.; Jason Robinson, Ph.D.; Todd H. Sundeen, Ph.D.; Jennifer Urbach, Ph.D.; Hasan Zaghlawan, Ph.D.

The School of Special Education offers one of the most comprehensive training programs for special educators (undergraduate, master's, doctoral) in the nation. UNC is the only institution in a six-state region that offers degree programs in special education in all areas of exceptionality. Special programs associated with special education include the Summer Enrichment Program for the Gifted and Talented, the Bresnahan-Halstead Center on Disabilities, and an annual Special Education Summer Symposia Series in Vail, Colorado featuring renowned speakers.

Faculty in Special Education are nationally recognized, have published in their respective areas, presented papers at prestigious conferences and have many of their publications translated into several foreign languages. Numerous program and research grants provide support for professional development and student scholarships at the graduate levels.